A Trip to the Park

I took a trip to the park the other day. Ritter Spring Park north of Springfield, MO to be specific. I decided to take my trusty camera along to snap a few photos of what I saw while I was there. I also wanted to see how well Google My Tracks GPS tracking for Android on the T-Mobile G1 worked on a smaller scale. It worked well (see map of the path I walked below).

I know that I don’t start and end at the same point. It was a little while before I thought of starting the application. On top of that, it’s a jumbled mess when you zoom in because I did a lot of backtracking to take some shots.


So, without further ado, the pictures. To be honest, I’m not even sure I was supposed to be walking down these paths because I was first greeted with this sign:

Park Sign: No Tresspassing?

Park Sign: No Trespassing?

And then the rest:

Dead Tree

Dead Tree

Running Stream with a Fallen Tree

Running Stream with a Fallen Tree

Bird of Prey: Hawk? Falcon?

Bird of Prey: Hawk? Falcon? Does anybody know?

A Group of Purple Flower

A Group of Purple Flowers

A Group of Turtles Lying on a Fallen Tree

A Group of Turtles Lying on a Fallen Tree

A Small Waterfall at the Edge of a Pond

A Small Waterfall at the Edge of a Pond

5 Responses

  1. Does this park have a Japanese garden? I think I was at this park on Thursday last week…

  2. Also I enjoy the crop on the stream, and the colors on the purple flowers…those are my favorite shots.

    • If this park has a Japanese garden, I didn’t see it. I know there’s one on south Scenic, but I’ve never been to it. This one is NE of the airport.

      I think the flower one is my favorite too.

  3. I like your turtles. We should all go out and take some pictures sometime. That would be a huge, fun nerdfest.

Leave a Reply

