Facebook: What’s the Point?

Raise your hand if you have a Facebook. That’s silly… everyone has one. To be honest, most of the time I don’t even know why I still have it.

I was first introduced to the service in the fall of 2005. It was my freshman year of college and we had a contest on our floor. We join this website and the person with the most friends from our floor of the dorm would get a 2-liter of soda and some candy. I ended up winning the contest, but didn’t know who any of the people I became “friends” with were; nor did I care about finding out. That should have been my hint.

Since that time, I now have a little over 200 friends, of those I could probably count on my two hands the ones that I am in contact with regularly. And of those, I can and do interract with most, if not all, in other ways.

And therein lies the question: What’s the point?

The only reasons I can come up with are the “what-ifs.” What if I really need to get a hold of a certain person? What if I completely lose track and just want to say “Hi”?

Other than that, I don’t really know. It’s probably just the person I am and an anomaly compared to the masses.

What are your thoughts?

5 Responses

  1. I find that little by little I one use facebook less and two don’t really use it for social utility. It has become an organizational tool for projects i.e. creating groups for my groups. But other than that it isn’t used for social interaction for me per say. Because I find even a detached individual that I would want to contact I would much rather contact that them in some other way rather than facebook. I’m convinced that once I leave college it will be come a tool that I hardly use at all…but who knows I guess.

    • I don’t know how well I’ll keep in touch with people after college. I’m so bad a keeping in touch with people even with the resources (Facebook) I have readily around me. I almost have to have physical contact with the person in order to stay on top of things.

  2. I think that I use it to keep up with about 5% of people I know, honestly. There are so many hundreds of updates, but I don’t waste my time reading all of them, so unless I go searching for someone there’s a small chance I’ll find them. I do use Facebook to keep up with a small group very regularly and I can count on it to be there if I need to tell someone to find me.

  3. I’ve reconnected with a few old friends and use Facebook to keep in contact with my family and a few close friends. I’ve found it a bit easier to get through messages with my close friends and family on Facebook than wading through all my emails to find their messages to me there.

  4. The convience is very nice, knowing that you are able to contact anyone you’re connected to with speed and ease.

Leave a Reply

